All posts by Christian Smith


Boston College goes a perfect 3-0 at the North Atlantic Regional Tournament to earn the 1st of 8 spots. BC clinched their spot after defeating the defending National Champions, Penn State 8-3 in the Championship Game. This will be Boston College’s first ever trip to the World Series.

The University of Maryland slays a giant by defeating East Carolina University 4-2 in the championship game of the Mid-Atlantic Regional Tournament. Coming in as the #4 seed as the at-large pick, the Terrapins defeated the #1 seed Ohio State in the first round, followed by an upset over conference rival JMU in the second round, then taking down the powerhouse of ECU in the championship game. Maryland makes it’s way back to the World Series for the first time since 2009!


What a day…Currently, there is one team that has already punched their ticket to the big dance (Boston College), six other championships are set and one game is still being played in the Gulf Coast between Texas A&M and Houston Community College.  Come tomorrow morning, the remaining 7 championship games will be set for championship Sunday.  Check out how the Regional Tournaments shaped up after Day 2 and stay tuned to find out the remaining 7 teams who make the DI World Series tomorrow.


The following teams have been placed on probation for all of this season as well as next season for violation of NCBA Rule 24.05.0.  They forfeited at least on game during the last week of the NCBA season.

Rutgers University

North Carolina State University

Western Michigan University

University of Wisconsin – Eau Clarie

University of Kentucky

Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville

California State University – Chico


Division 1 started with 138 teams, now we are down to the final 32!  All eight regional tournaments are set!  Check out all eight regional brackets HERE!


Congratulations to the following eight teams who have earned at-large bids to their respective Regional Tounaments which take place on May 10-12, 2019.

Michigan State University – Great Lakes At-Large Bid

Houston Community College – Gulf Coast At-Large Bid

Iowa State University  – Mid-America At-Large Bid

University of Maryland – Mid-Atlantic At-Large Bid

SUNY Brockport – North Atlantic At-Large Bid

Oregon State University – Northern Pacific At-Large Bid

Mississippi State University – South Atlantic At-Large Bid

Arizona State University – Southern Pacific At-Large Bid


Congratulations to the following teams for winning their respective conferences and earning a spot in their Regional Tournaments on May 10-12, 2019!

University of Windsor – Great Lakes North Champion

University of Illinois – Great Lakes South Champion

University of Wisconsin – Great Lakes West Champion

Baylor University – Gulf Coast North Champion

University of Iowa – Mid-America North Champion

University of Missouri – Mid-America South Champion

James Madison University – Mid-Atlantic North Champion

Drexel University – North Atlantic East Champion

Boston College – North Atlantic North Champion

Eastern Washington University – Northern Pacific North Champion

University of Oregon – Northern Pacific West Champion

University of Alabama – South Atlantic West Champion

Sonoma State University – Southern Pacific North Champion

University of California-Santa Barbara – Southern Pacific West Champion


Portland State University has been placed on probation for the remainder of the year and all of next year for violation of NCBA Rule 26.01.0. They forfeited scheduled conference games against two different conference teams during the 2019 season and specifically during the last weekend of the regular season.


12 weeks of Spring ball have been played and for the first time all year, there is a new #1 team in the country.  The Aggies from Texas A&M finally dethrone East Carolina University to sit atop the Rawlings Week 23 NCBA DI Top 20.  Four new teams join the Top 20, so be sure to check out where everyone landed!

-Next Poll Released early on Monday 5/13/19!


Congratulations to East Carolina University on winning the Mid-Atlantic South Conference, Ohio State University on winning the Mid-Atlantic West Conference, Utah State University o on winning the Northern Pacific South Conference, the University of Georgia on winning the South Atlantic East Conference and Grand Canyon University on winning the Southern Pacific South Conference.  These teams will represent their conference at their respective regional tournaments on May 10-12.